Harper Voyager & NaNoWriMo

Dear Diary,

I submitted my novel, Vokhtah, to Harper Voyager last night, and now I can sit and contemplate the enormity of what I have done. Not for too long though, because NaNoWriMo starts on November the 1st [more on that later].

So. In the last few weeks I’ve conquered my fear of failure, received my MS back from my editor, edited said MS, learned how to write a query letter and submitted my very first novel. Not bad at all. On the down side however, my house is a shambles, the weeds are going berserk, I’ve almost run out of clean clothes and our meals have been… basic. Oh, and I’ve neglected my blog quite a bit. 😦 Clearly, I’m going to have to fix at least some of those things. For today though, I’m just going to focus on the simple pleasure of not having a deadline hanging over my head any more.

As part of my winding down strategy I’m going to potter around in the garden, trying not to see the spots where Andy, the adolescent alpaca has dropped bits of poop. His mother has been rather slack in teaching him the finer points of alpaca etiquette. Well-mannered, adult alpacas poop in neat, clearly defined piles. Andy poops as he walks. 😦

I will also spend some time playing with the dog instead of constantly yelling at her to be quiet because I’m working. I may even decide to cook something half-way decent for dinner, but only because I’m sick of pizza and fish and chips. Everything else can wait until tomorrow.

And in a very roundabout way, the word ‘tomorrow’ brings me to that other, rather peculiar word in the title – NaNoWriMo. It stands for National Novel Writing Month. Most of us just call it nano. Nano is a yearly event that begins on the 1st of November and ends on the 30th. What actually happens is that participants attempt to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days. It sounds insane but can be incredibly stimulating. And fun. That’s why I’ve decided to participate again this year. I need a bit of fun. My brain feels tired and I just don’t have the mental energy to jump straight into book 2 of the Vokhtan series.

A change is as good as a holiday… right?

Anyway, I’ve signed up for nano so it’s too late to change my mind now. πŸ˜€ I have not the faintest, foggiest, vaguest idea what to write, but I’m hoping sheer panic and desperation will kick start my brain on November 1. That strategy worked back in 2004 so I’m hoping it will work again in 2012. If not, I may be writing some very depressed and depressing posts.

If any brave writer out there wants to keep me company during the month of November, the url for nano is here.

And now I really do have to go out into the garden. I have early roses to sniff, tiny figs to encourage and an irate dog to placate.

cheers

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

16 responses to “Harper Voyager & NaNoWriMo

  • lorddavidprosser

    Your Diary just whispered to me “About bloody time” and the dog is cock a’ hoop that you’ve finished since she’s fed up of crossing her legs and waiting for the door to be opened.
    I hope Harper Voyager have a sensible editor on the post when Vokhtah arrives. You should have no problems then.
    Best of luck on the NaNoWriMo. It doesn’t have to be a complete novel does it, as long as it reaches the require words?I’m sure my friend did it as part of his novel which he then went on to finish.No doubt you’ll find someone to accompany you, maybe Patti Roberts s up for the challenge? If she’s in your neck of the woods maybe you can meet for a regular cuppa and consultations.
    Sending Huge Hugs
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    Like

    • acflory

      Thanks David. πŸ˜€ Mogi and I went for our first morning ‘walk’ around the garden today. I’d forgotten how much of a pick-me-up it can be.

      As for nano, yes, the only requirement is that you reach 50K words. No-one expects quality and… they don’t get it either! It is a great way to kick start a new story idea though.:)

      Like

  • metan

    Housework? Weeding? Washing? Incidental πŸ˜‰ Actually that sounds a bit like my house on a normal day!

    Good luck with your submission and now I am dying to see what you come up with for nano. I’ve loved your short stories so far, I will be waiting in anticipation to see a longer one now! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • acflory

      Oh god Metan…. NO ONE will ever see my nano ‘novel’!!!!!!!
      Truly. Those 50K words will be 99% rubbish. What I’m hoping for is a nugget of an idea, something I can work with /after/ nano. πŸ˜€

      Like

      • metan

        I mean that I would love to see what foundation you come up with at the time! Being (almost) forced to write 50k in a short time might drag out some strangeness you never thought of before πŸ™‚

        Like

        • acflory

          -giggles- I think psychopathic hermaphrodites… with wings!.. is going to be hard to beat but I’m going to give it my best shot. πŸ˜€

          Like

  • Candy Korman

    Celebrate each and every milestone.
    And then start writing again!
    (But 50,000 words in 30 days…. oh, my!)

    Like

    • acflory

      lmao – it can be done! It works out to be something like 1,500 words per day and most of us write that much without realising it. The hard part is hanging on to the momentum and keeping the focus tight. Besides, anyone who thinks those 50K words are /good/ is… nuts!

      Like

  • Patricia Awapara

    Good luck with Nano writing! That is scary!! Not ready for that challenge yet. Maybe I will join you next year. πŸ˜€

    Like

  • Carrie Rubin

    Good luck with your submission and good luck with Nano. I don’t do NaNo, but I admire those of you who do. πŸ™‚

    Like

  • kmtreat

    Congratulations on taking that big step forward. Nano sounds a little too intimidating. Good luck with that.

    Like

    • acflory

      Thanks Treat πŸ™‚ I’m sorry if I made nano sound off-putting. The element of ‘gentle’ competition is a lot of fun and helps keep everyone motivated.

      Like

  • Colin

    I did Nano last year. I have never written such a pile of excrement in my life, but it was quite fun. I don’t have time to do it this year because I have to concentrate on school. Bah. But next time, Gadget. Next time. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • acflory

      lmao – I have to agree about the quality of what we produce! It is awful. πŸ˜€ But the first time I did it I ended up with the germ of an idea that eventually became Vokhtah. Not a single word of the original 50k plus has survived but a couple of the characters did, and some of the names. If I manage to get even that much out of the next one I’ll be happy.

      Like

Don't be shy!

