Something new is coming!

I can’t tell you exactly what I’ve been working on – I want to surprise you – but I can say that it involves a new blog and a new way for readers to find interesting new books to read.

Oh what the hell – I’m hopeless at keeping secrets! Ok, I’ll tell you! I’m busy making a blog where authors get to tell us which books they love to read.

If you’re a member of Goodreads then you already know all about listing your favourite books and finding recommendations from the reading lists of other readers but how do you know that their likes are going to match your likes? Especially when there are so many readers, most of whom you don’t know?

My little moment of epiphany came when I started wondering what my favourite authors would recommend. But of course how often can you go up to an author and say ‘Hey, I really like your work so tell me what you are reading.’ So from there I started thinking about the authors I already know personally and I realised that when we chat we usually talk about the process of writing, or publishing or marketing. Very rarely do we talk about the books that have rocked our worlds. And that was the moment when I thought why not? Why not ask these talented people to share some of that personal stuff with us?

Like all good ideas the implementation was a bit trickier than the initial ‘ah hah’ moment. For starters, I didn’t want to make this new info. a part of Meeka’s Mind because I didn’t want it to be about me, so that meant starting a new blog but would I be able to find a WordPress theme that would let me do the things I wanted to do?

After much trawling of the themes I found one that looked perfect about a week ago but I discovered that making it actually work required something of a learning curve. Making it work well required an awful lot of experimentation so I’ve had to do a lot of tinkering.That’s one reason why I haven’t been all that sociable this week. Sorry. 😦 It’s also one reason why my normal Friday post turned into this Saturday post instead.[Northern hemisphere people read Thursday and Friday].

Once I had something that more or less worked the way I wanted it to I began approaching some of my favourite authors about the new project and I was very relieved to find that their response was all positive and many of them have pointed out small details I hadn’t thought of so thanks guys!

At this stage I’m hoping to launch the new blog late next week however as I am being a bit anal about having everything perfect for the great unveiling that deadline may slip a little. Best laid plans of mice and men etc. πŸ˜€

Now, on to other news! Something I’m rather excited about is a new application I’ve just installed. It’s called ‘Fraps’ and it will allow me to take multiple screenshots of all sorts of things, including the new blog! It will also allow me to explore something I’ve never done before which is the creation of videos. Don’t worry, I have no ambitions as a film maker but I would like to be able to take videos of my in-game characters just for fun. I think I may also be able to create videos of tutorials.

Why tutorials you ask?

Well, my background is in technical writing and there are times when I kind of miss the ‘teaching’ involved so putting together little tutorials would allow me to learn a new skill and scratch that itch now and then. πŸ™‚

I’m hoping I haven’t bitten off more than I can chew with all this new stuff but I do like a challenge so stay tuned to watch Meeks juggle while walking a tightrope. Anyone have a safety net I could borrow?

And no, Meeks will not be stripping. :p
-hugs-
Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

26 responses to “Something new is coming!

Don't be shy!

