Gato in a chapeau [or Cat in a Hat if you prefer]

Massive thanks to Candy Korman for this BRILLIANT video clip. πŸ˜€

Ok, I had no intention of posting today because weekends are when I can immerse myself in The Book but… watch this and then tell me it wasn’t worth an unschedule post!

Now, just in case you live in the digital equivalent of Siberia and haven’t heard of the Chick-Fil-A controversy, let me explain that the CEO of Chick-Fil-A has publicly come out against gays. I guess he was hoping to swing his market share of fast food customers against the evils of gayhood. It seems to have backfired as the anti Chick-Fil-A groundswell has spread all over the world.

Now I’m not American, I wouldn’t eat Chick-Fil-A even if I were and I’m not gay but I do believe in equality regardless of race, religion, politics, gender, sexual orientation or any other arbitrary ‘difference’ that the bigots care to raise. All of that is just a smokescreen to hide the fear and hatred they feel towards anyone they consider to be ‘other’. And a lot of the time they do it under the banner of religion.

If these bigots had their way we would still be living in the Dark Ages with the Bubonic plague, witch hunts and an average life expectancy of less than 40 years. Oh and we’d be a lot shorter too. So I’m adding my voice to those saying ‘No!’ to Chick-Fil-A and bigotry.

Go Gato!

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

24 responses to “Gato in a chapeau [or Cat in a Hat if you prefer]

  • pennycoho

    Oops, I answered the above comment in the wrong place meeka, obviously, but I love this post also. You go girl. There’s room for everyone on this planet, every kind shape and size. I’ve never liked the word judgement because no one on this planet is qualified to judge (in my opinion), another great post. πŸ™‚

    Like

  • pennycoho

    Excellent write, Meeka, everything you said true, you and I could probably speak for hours on the various additives that civilization consumes now with the processed food they eat. It is sad, okay I’ll say it some times we humans aren’t very bright with how we go about doing things (I’m referencing when food started to change for convenience and added flavor and the ability to have a longer shelf life and to look prettier and so on.) I mean come on, the body ingests these chemicals and then goes huh? I’m right there with you. Excellent Post, thanks, Penny

    Like

  • Madame Weebles

    Love it. I did like Chik-Fil-A’s food (junk food though it is), but now that the owner started spewing this venom, I will no longer set food in one of those establishments.

    Like

  • metan

    I love that cat.
    And his big red hat.
    Go cat, go.

    What a great response to hatred and ignorance.

    Like

    • acflory

      I don’t know who the man behind the Gato is but he’s brilliant, especially if he came up with the poem? himself. Just brilliant.

      Btw I’m in the middle of reading a book called Evertaster. I’m loving it but I think it’s actually a kids book or if it isn’t I’m sure that kids of all ages would love it. In particular I think your boys would love it πŸ™‚ If you do any reading with them I’d really suggest getting this one. [no sex, swearing or super gory violence just lots of adventures to do with food!].

      night night

      Like

      • metan

        I will look out for that one, thanks! Can never have enough books and I am more than happy to read a good kids book, no shame here πŸ™‚ Actually one of my favourite books ever is a kids book, The Arrival by Shaun Tan, the end always brings a tear to my eye.

        Listening to the Gato made me think he was sitting in his car overloading on Dr Seuss and then jumping out to do his fantastic spiel while he was still in the zone πŸ™‚

        Like

  • lorddavidprosser

    The video was brilliant. The perfect way to respond to the bigotry and say “I’m taking my custom elsewhere.” My voice joins yours in saying that it’s time the dark ages were banished except as history lessons.
    Like you I wouldn’t eat there anyway because in my case I dislike fast food but if I did, after hearing the chick-Fil-A owner’s statement I’d drop them like a hot brick because I hate discrimination of any kind, and this is the worst kind as it promotes hate in the name of religion and religion already has enough of that.
    I tweeted this blog and hope it gets the attention Le Chat deserves.

    Like

  • Carrie Rubin

    Definitely worth an unscheduled post!

    Like

  • Candy

    The Gato is going to be so happy about this. I will send the link to him tonight. The goal is to go viral with the video. A little international push will go a long way toward that.
    Thanks for posting!

    Like

Don't be shy!

