Flash fiction poll and ebook availability

In a recent post I spoke about my flash fiction entry in the Flash Fiction competition being run by Indies Unlimited. I’m kind of embarrassed to ask but if you liked it, or even if you liked one of the others better, would you mind following this link to the voting page and voting? Thanks guys. 🙂

The other news concerns an issue I’ve just recently discovered about the availability of ebooks in certain countries – namely Australia.

Back at the start of the year I bought the ebook version of ‘Shades of Milk and Honey’ by Mary Robinette Kowal and loved it. The review is here if you’re interested. However when her new book came out not long ago – A Glamour in Glass – I couldn’t see an ebook version on Amazon. I thought that was a little strange but it was not the first time this had happened to me so I looked at all her books and discovered that now I couldn’t even buy the ebook version of the first book in the series either! What was going on?

I queried Amazon support and received this reply :

Hello,

I’m sorry to hear the trouble you had in purchasing Kindle content “Glamour in Glass” and “Shades of Milk and Honey”.

I’ve checked our website and see that the books are not available in the kindle version. I’m sorry if this may cause you any disappointment or inconvenience.

The content in the Kindle Store is provided to us directly by the publishers or authors who own that content. Also, publishers grant eBook rights on a country by country basis. As a result, availability of titles in the Kindle Store can vary based on your country of residence.

You may contact the publisher directly to request him to make the content available in the Kindle version.’

The bold highlighting is mine. It seems this is another issue related to the new distribution model the big publishers have adopted. Not only do they now set their own prices on ebooks – making them ridiculously high – but apparently they do not consider Australia to be worthy of distribution. Thanks very much, not.

I have no idea how many ebooks are now not available to Australian readers or how many other countries have been knocked off the list the way we have been but I’m more than a little peeved. If this is how the big publishers think they are going to reclaim their dominance in the new world order then I’m here to tell them that they’re running full tilt into a dead end. Alienating your readers is not a smart move and this reader is more determined than ever to support the growing list of excellent indie authors who are in touch with the times.

Please check out my own list of favourite indie authors under ‘Indie Recommendations’ at the top of my blog. And if you have discovered a problem getting ebooks in your country could you let me know? I’d like to start a list of ‘ignored’ countries.

cheers

Meeks

 

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

20 responses to “Flash fiction poll and ebook availability

Don't be shy!

