Important information for all indie authors!

Back when I first started learning about self-publishing on LinkedIn I heard a few horror stories  about Author Solutions [the parent company of self-publishing companies like iUniverse, Xlibris etc] but I did not pay much attention because back then I was still sitting on the fence about whether to become an indie or not. Now I know that I will be an indie and so this article by fellow blogger David Gaughran really made me sit up and take notice.

The article is about Penguin’s recent buyout of Author Solutions and what the implications of this move will be for indie authors. In a nutshell the prognosis is not good and I’m doing my bit to pass the message on to every writer I know.

Please follow the link below to read the article in full as it could save you thousands of dollars and a great deal of frustration.

The Author Solution article

For those who won’t follow blind links here is the url in full :

http://indiereader.com/2012/07/penguins-new-business-model-exploiting-writers/

If you found this information as shocking as I did please reblog it so that we can reach as many writers as possible.

Thanks,

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

9 responses to “Important information for all indie authors!

  • lorddavidprosser

    A timely warning. Another good publisher disappearing in the morass of services offered which are worth little. Shame.

    Like

  • Candy Korman

    I immediately tweeted the link. It’s strange Penguin giving up its good rep to join with an exploitive operation? That’s why the ebook option is more and more popular.

    Like

  • Carrie Rubin

    An eye-opening read. I had heard buzz about this, but hadn’t read through an article on it. Thanks for the link. And thanks for stopping by my blog. I appreciate it. 🙂

    Like

  • Ilil Arbel

    I would not worry too much about it. Traditionals are worried, and Penguin is trying several solutions to see if it can get a good market share. It won’t work, because most writers these days know the reputation of Author Solutions and won’t touch them with a ten foot pole. Yes, together they will milk some poor authors, but in the end, the venture is doomed to fail.

    Sitting in the midst of the publishing world, I see so many bad decisions made, it boggles the mind. So I suggest that you just don’t go with such vultures, go indie, and wait out the storm. It will pass.

    Like

  • pinkagendist

    Are you 100% sure about self-publishing? Your writing and style feels to me like something you wouldn’t have too much trouble commercializing through traditional routes…

    Like

    • acflory

      Ah bless you Pinky! Yes, I’m sure. I write science fiction and the trad publishers are not into sci-fi at the moment. I’m also writing about psychopathic hermaphrodites for whom a mating is a duel ending in what amounts to rape. I can’t see any publisher touching my story with a very long ten foot pole! Besides, the more I learn about trad. vs indie the more angry I get at the exploitation of traditional publishing.

      But you’ve made my day so thank you 😀

      Like

Don't be shy!

