A bit of time off

Hi everyone. I meant to post another creature from the Bestiary today to make up for not posting it yesterday but something happened today that’s kind of turned me upside down. To be honest it’s making me question myself as a writer. It’s also making me wonder whether The Book is just a self-indulgent fantasy on my part.

I’m already calling myself all sorts of wimp here but… I need a little time to have a good sook.  😦

As Arnie so famously said – ‘I’ll be back’.

cheers

Meeks

 

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

25 responses to “A bit of time off

  • high times

    Fantastic website. A lot of helpful information here.

    I’m sending it to several pals ans additionally sharing in delicious. And naturally, thank you in your effort!

    Like

    • acflory

      Wow … Thank you High times! I know it’s a bit of a hodge podge of a blog but I’m really glad you found to be helpful. You’ve made a gray, cold, really blah winter morning quite a bit brighter. πŸ˜€

      Like

  • littlemissobsessivesanatomy

    Doubts are silly guests…dont worry about them they leave soon…take a day off, watch a good movie, a nice cup of coffee and hopefully you will find a way to kick all the doubts away…
    Dear Meeka you are good… you book is going to turn out as amazing as you are..

    Like

  • metan

    I think you can tell by the other comments that we all want to hear more about your writing.
    I hope whatever has made you doubt yourself is taken care of in true Arnie style and exterminated with extreme predjudice. πŸ™‚

    Like

  • medmcn

    I took a break once. It was back around ’97 when I was getting ready to graduate, and start my “real life,” whatever that is. The writing seemed like some sort of pipe dream, so I put it aside for a while to do “real work,” which I guess is what you do in “real life.”

    It cost me ten years during which I didn’t write at all. As a writer I’d give almost anything now to have them back.

    Take a breather if you need to, but be careful. You can make up for a lot of things in this life, but you can’t make up for lost time.

    Like

    • Ilil Arbel

      medmcn, you are so right. I regret my lost years too… very much.

      Like

      • acflory

        I’m going to repeat what I said to Ed – you gained from those years as well. Wisdom and experience are never wasted! Besides, writers do not have use-by dates. I prefer to think we will be like a Grange Hermitage – improving with age. πŸ˜€

        Like

    • acflory

      Believe me, at 59 I feel the pressure of those wasted years as well. Two years ago after a health scare I realised that this dream would not wait forever and I’ve been writing in a more disciplined way since then.

      I think I just needed a little bit of quiet time to ‘remember’ why I was writing in the first place. After that my ego let go of the steering wheel and got in the backseat where it was supposed to be all along.

      And please don’t regret those wasted years. Having read your books I believe your characters gained depth and roundness from having the experiences of those years to draw on. John Deskata in particular. The only real issue you face now is the need to write a little faster than the 20 somethings. πŸ˜€

      I’m so glad ‘Devil Town’ is almost ready to launch. I’m really looking forward to it. And don’t forget, four /good/ books are a million times better than 20 mediocre ones!

      Like

  • Candy Korman

    When I get doubtful, and I do, I usually write something else. That’s the real secret behind all the short stories. They recharge me.

    Give it a try.
    Candy

    Like

  • Ilil Arbel

    WHAT????? The more I am reading your book, the more I know how wonderful it is. I have no idea what happened to cause you such anguish, but whatever it is, don’t let it stop you. Every author has bad moments, and sure, taking a few days off is a good thing, but your book is a gem, and don’t let anyone, or your own “inner editor,” discourage you. You have created a unique world with bursting life, energy, and reality. Your characters are alive, three dimensional, fascinating, and sometimes frightening. I LOVE this book and I know books! Stick with it!

    Like

  • jenniferscoullar

    Are you okay Meeka? I was looking forward to this next post. How long will I have to wait? I don’t know what happened today, but please don’t let the nay-sayers win. You have a fan base to consider!

    Like

  • lorddavidprosser

    The Sooner the Better Arnie. Alex says your book is awesome and I guess it is but it’s your baby and has to be the book YOU want, YOU chose and YOU want to read as well as write. It’s easy to be knocked back, I do it to myself all the time and haven’t written in almost a year now but no-one has said your book doesn’t have merit so please don’t let it put you off writing. That final tweak may be what does it for you.xx

    Like

  • alexlaybourne

    We will be waiting for you Meeks. I have had many periods where i questioned myself and wanted to just throw it all away and just admit my current job is the best things will get. Luckily I pull myself out of it, and I am certain you will too.

    Your book is awesome, and as long as your love it, and know that it is what you wanted it to be, then that is a much bigger success than putting something out there that feels empty to you, but conforms with what the masses want to see.

    Never give up!

    Like

Don't be shy!

