Illuminating blogger award

I’m not sure what it is about these awards that turns me into a fumble-fingered ignoramus but I inevitably mess up in some way and today has been no exception. I tried to follow the instructions to the letter and thought I’d succeeded until, shock horror, I realised I’d put my acceptance comment in the wrong award.

So before I do anything else I must apologies to Food Stories Blog for being an idiot. As Bluebottle* would say – “I feel a proper fool.”

Now that I’ve confessed I can move on to step 2 of the instructions. I’d like to thank Lord Daud for nominating me for this award.

David is one of those incredibly generous people who spend a great deal of their time helping others achieve their dreams. His most recent gift of friendship was to email me with a long list of short story competitions. He did this because he knew that I would skin a cat* forever before finding the courage to look for them myself. That gentle, not so subtle nudge pushed me into entering 2080 into not one but two competitions. I don’t expect my first short story to win anything but just entering it was a huge achievement for me and will give me the courage to enter other competitions in the future.

Now, according to step 3 of the instructions I have to reveal one thing about myself. I doubt that anyone will be surprised when I say that I’m a little challenged in the courage department. I’m a miniature tiger when it comes to defending others but I’m a chihuahua when it comes to promoting myself. This is not a good trait in someone thinking about becoming an indie author. All I can say is that I’m working on it. Baby steps so far but I am trying. So thank you David. 🙂

This is my third award and I would really like to say thank you to everyone I’ve met online but I’m limited to nominating just five bloggers. This makes things bloody hard I can tell you. In the end I decided to go with the theme of indies, so now I would like to celebrate bloggers who have shown me that being an indie author can be synonymous with innovation, beautiful prose and a level of quality that puts many traditionally published authors to shame. They’ve inspired me and I’ve loved reading their books. Thank you one and all.

Illuminating Blogger Nominees :

Candy Korman for her innovative fusion of literary monsters and crisp, modern prose.

Lord David Prosser for his gentle humour and wonderful way with words.

Rachel Abbott for her compelling thriller that took the genre to a whole new level.

Stephen Faulds for his beautiful portrayal of love and falling from grace.

M. Edward McNally for creating the kind of fantasy world I would love to live in.

 

*Bluebottle : a favourite character from the 1950’s radio show The Goons.

*Skinning a cat : procrastinating.

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

16 responses to “Illuminating blogger award

  • lorddavidprosser

    You’re welcome to the nomination, you deserve it.
    You’re also welcome to the kick in the rump to enter competitions. You deserve it.
    Thank you for the nomination myself. I don’t deserve it since I’ve written nothing worth reading in ages but I approve your other choices.
    You Madame are delightful.

    Like

  • alexlaybourne

    Congrats on the award. I was checking some comments the other day and noticed I had been nominated for a couple that got totally missed. I felt terrible. I am going to do a recap of them in one giant post later in the week.

    Keep up the great posts Meeks and you will be getting many many more of these. I am sure of it.

    Like

  • littlemissobsessivesanatomy

    congratulations again 🙂 you deserve many more

    Like

  • Candy

    Thanks so much for the nomination. I will admit right here and now that I don’t understand the instructions and will have to take a beat and figure it out. Of course, with the food blog aspect of it maybe I should take a BEET to figure it out. I got some wonderful baby beets at the farmer’s market and roasted them. (Great served cold in a salad.) But here I am vamping, because I couldn’t figure out where I post what.

    Maybe that’s my admission. It took me three tries to fill out my New York State Driver’s license renewal. They kept mailing it back to me with further instructions. LOL… (It’s renewed, but living in the city I haven’t driven in years.)

    Now, on to your award — congrats! Super congrats! I hope this leads to more fun posts and comments from your extended circle of followers.

    Like

    • acflory

      rofl snort lmao!

      I knew we were kindred spirits Candy! You’re meant to copy the picture of the award onto a new post of your own and then admit to your deepest darkest failings! I’m so glad I’m not the only one :p

      They say practise makes perfect but ‘they’ lied! -more maniacal laughter-

      Like

  • Courtenay Bluebird

    WOOHOO! Congratulations on winning another award! (I knew these things would keep coming!)

    Props to Lord David Prosser for pushing you towards submitting your work by providing you with a list of places to submit.

    You’re not a miniature tiger! (Nice image, tho’!) You’re a new short fiction writer trying to find her way! It can be a daunting process. Thank goodness Lord Prosser stepped in to help in a concrete fashion!

    And, as for mixing up things— I do it all the time. I spend half of my week in a glorious fog of confusion, and the other half trying to correct what got bungled in the midst of my foggy confusion.

    I am so excited for you, Meeka! You are off to a fantastic start!

    Like

    • acflory

      -giggles like mad- You and David are Svengalis, both of you :p Now that I’ve broken the ice – love that cliche – I hope to write more shorties but honestly, I’m a big book writer at heart!

      One thing I will confess to you – I have a secret yen to write a haiku or two one day so the poetry lessons are not going to waste 😉

      Yes, confusion. Complete and total empathy on that one.

      Like

      • Courtenay Bluebird

        I think we totally fit that bill! The short story and the novel are different writing forms with different requirements and needs, but I think of the short story as a sprint and a novel as a triathlon.

        (Short stories are also to novels as drawing is to painting. Each can be an end unto themselves, or, one thing can lead to another.)

        Please write poetry. Haiku is a fab place to start. Poetry will help you write fiction also. It will teach you to value words and space.

        Okay, I’m going to stop blathering at you long enough to say that I appreciate everything you’re doing here, Meeka. You are a force of nature, my friend!

        May we always enjoy the confusion we encounter as well as the confusion we inspire! Cheers to our confusion! 🙂

        Short stories are a way of figuring out how to make narrative flow.

        Like

        • acflory

          Don’t hit me but… for a very long time I refused to even /read/ short stories because I just felt they were a tease – get you interested and then The End with no bang.

          It wasn’t until I read Mary Robinette Kowal’s short story ‘For Want of a Nail’ that I finally understood what the short story form was all about. Only now do I understand that it is like a prose form of haiku where each word must paint a picture and each phrase must make the reader’s mind explode with the force of their own imaginations.

          I understood that incredible power of the haiku but I just never connected the dots to prose. Now that I have I may get a little braver 😀

          I’m still a dreadful pragmatist though so embracing confusion will be a work in progress for some time to come :p

          -big hugs-
          Meeks

          Like

  • AgentD32

    I do not know him well acflory, but here is a published indie author with several titles within his catalog, who writes steam punk, fantasy, and scifi like material. He has excellent views on life and wonderful views on publishing companies (he dislikes them). http://josephrobertlewis.wordpress.com/

    Like

    • acflory

      Thanks D32, I’m always looking for new authors to read, especially indie authors. That said, one of my all time favourite books is China Mieville’s Perdido Street Station, a glorious steampunk creation.

      After checking Lewis out I bought his Halcyon trilogy on the spot. I’m really looking forward to reading it once my current crop of books are done 😀

      Thanks heaps!

      Like

  • Food Stories

    What a great acceptance post … I love it 🙂

    Like

Don't be shy!

