Tell me about yourself award

Mary Ann from Mypenandme just left a lovely comment on my blog saying that she had nominated me for the ‘Tell me about yourself’ award. I’m rather stunned because I’m still very new to blogging in general and awards in particular. To me just logging into wordpress and seeing those bright orange numbers up there is an award in itself and I’d like to take this opportunity to thank every single person who has ever read anything I’ve ever written, or may write in the future! My special thanks though go to Mary Ann who has talents in the poetry department that I wish I had.

Now, according to the rules of these awards I have to write 7 things about myself that I haven’t revealed before and then I have to nominate 7 other bloggers for the same award. Oh and copy/paste the proudly displayed award into your own blogs! I hope you guys are paying attention because I know I messed up on the instructions when Daud [aka Lord David Prosser] nominated me for my very first award so try to get it right ๐Ÿ˜‰

Ok, here we go. 7 things I haven’t yet revealed.

1. This is a biggie – I’m 59. That is just one year away from the big six-o when I officially leave the ranks of the late middle aged and become a baby oldie.

2. I’ve learned many things over the last 59 years but none of them has made me grow up, not properly. I can pretend to be dignified for about five minutes but after that I tend to revert to my true age which fluctuates between 10 and 35.

3. I used to ride motorbikes in my twenties and I still love them but I lost my nerve years ago. I blame my Kawasaki 400 which was so big I couldn’t put both feet on the ground at the same time, even on tippy toes.

4. I’m short – see 3 above.

5. When I was younger I used to wear 4″ heels to make me look 5’8″. Being short is hell!

6. I’m an absolute softie when it comes to kids and animals. I do however draw the line at spiders. Nothing with 8 legs need apply.

7. I don’t believe in god or in any religion but I do believe in goodness and I venerate life in all its forms. I justify my stance on roast chicken and spiders as hypocrisy with extenuating circumstances.

Phew, that was actually quite hard. Be warned my lovelies!

Now for the easy part – Seven bloggers I nominate for the ‘Tell me about yourself’ award :

– ย Jennifer Scoullar. ย Jennifer is another aussie but I’m nominating her because she can write like crazy.

The Pink Agendist. ย Because this is a man with a big heart. And he can cook!

Courtney Bluebird.ย  Bluey is not an aussie but she could be ๐Ÿ™‚ ย She is also teaching me about poetry and deserves a medal of valour for that.

Maggie O. ย Maggie is funny and kind, she is also funny and loves animals. Oh and did I say she was funny? Well she is ๐Ÿ™‚

Alex Laybourne. ย Alex writes horror but it’s his understanding of human nature that is his greatest talent.

Caressingthemuse. ย Stephanie is a whiz at marketing and shares her knowledge with great generosity. She also has a way with words that makes learning fun.

Sable City. ย M. Edward McNally creates worlds I want to visit and has a sense of humour that hits all the right buttons with me.

I have dear friends I haven’t nominated this time around but Daud,ย  Candy, Metan, SweetMother, I love you all!

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

30 responses to “Tell me about yourself award

  • Late, But Awarded - Stephanie Allen Crist

    […] blogs I read, I discovered that acflory of Meekaโ€™s Mind had selected me for a blogger award:ย  Tell me about yourself.ย  In short, this post should have been up way before now, but now itโ€™s up, finally.ย  (Iโ€™ll be […]

    Like

  • Stephanie Allen Crist

    lol — I didn’t intend it to mean she bit it off! Though, that may have been what ended up on the page.

    Altogether an interesting experience and one that definitely defies what people expect from me. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  • Stephanie Allen Crist

    Anatomically impossible…Well, I was young and um, inexperienced. There was a particular bully at school who said something altogether inappropriate and was promptly warned (by someone else) that I had a big brother who had a lot of friends, football team-type friends and others of an even more dangerous nature. So, the guy left off.

    But, in the back of my mind, stirred the idea that the woman should be able to get her own revenge. I saw something–don’t remember what–that triggered an idea of a seductress bent on getting revenge on a man who tormented her. It ended with her offering oral sex, but unmanning him instead–quite literally–and shoving it down his throat.

    The prison guy came into play because my uncle dabbled in writing and he was in prison. My father had sent him a previous story for feedback, and I sent him this one. He shared it with another person in prison, who said it was anatomically impossible–though he never elaborated on which part was impossible.

    Personally, I’d rather not put either theory to the test.

    Like

    • acflory

      lmao!!!!!!!

      Oh what a brilliant story ๐Ÿ˜€ As I was reading your explanation I kept wondering why it would be impossible until I realised that your heroine would have to have jaws and teeth like a shark ๐Ÿ˜€

      Must admit I’m very impressed by your first ever beta readers though!

      Like

  • Late, But Awarded | Caressing the Muse

    […] blogs I read, I discovered that acflory of Meekaโ€™s Mind had selected me for a blogger award:ย  Tell me about yourself.ย  In short, this post should have been up way before now, but now itโ€™s up, finally.ย  (Iโ€™ll be […]

    Like

  • pinkagendist

    OMG, another award! ๐Ÿ˜€
    I’m taking it and I’m not following any of the rules ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  • Courtenay Bluebird

    Congratulations, Meeka! I believe this award will be the first of many successes. You’ve got a natural knack for writing and such a wonderful spirit.

    Thank you so much for the nomination. I got rather excited, I have to say, that you thought I could be an Aussie. I was so excited, in fact, that I told my husband, who said, “Well, that makes sense.”

    I am hugging you, lovely Meeks! And congrats!

    Like

  • lorddavidprosser

    Don’t want to bore you but…./. http://barsetshirediaries.wordpress.com/2012/05/24/new-award/
    Looks like you’ve done it again !!

    Like

  • littlemissobsessivesanatomy

    congratulations.. ๐Ÿ™‚
    am short too..i know how difficult being short is…dats why there is a little in my name ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  • jenniferscoullar

    Congratulations! … and thanks. Now, does that mean I do the same thing? Reveal 7 things and then nominate 7 more blogs?

    Like

  • acflory

    Ok, I lied – I’m 5′ 3 and 3/4″ and everybody I know is taller, including my daugher ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I did nominate you btw except it was for the previous award and I forgot to tell you. You’re there under Inspiring Blogger on the far right hand. -sigh- I did mention I’d messed up – well that was part of it so please grab your award and do all the good stuff like confessing that you’re really an amazon of 6’4″ :p

    Like

  • Candy Korman

    The only thing that surprises me is your height. 5’4″ is NOT short. At least not from my vantage point so… so glad you didn’t nominate me. (Can’t reveal my height.) LOL. Congrats and have fun with your award.

    Like

  • metan

    Love number 7! Extenuating circumstances ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

    • acflory

      I fear I’ll never be either a vegan or a buddhist ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Like

      • metan

        Yeah, if animals didn’t want us to eat them they wouldn’t make themselves taste so good ๐Ÿ˜‰ mmmmm….
        I would like to be as peaceful as a buddhist monk but I am afraid it is not not in my nature, I was born suspicious, no surprise I am an atheist really…

        I loved no 3 as well. The Man has a serious motorbike habit too ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

        • acflory

          Oh yes….roast pork with crackling, steak with mustard and sour cream sauce, stuffed peppers…. ahem. Moving right along.
          I think I may have been a little less suspicious when I was very young but it didn’t last ๐Ÿ˜‰
          Ah hah! There’s just something about leaning into a bend at speed that is just like flying. You have a good The Man ๐Ÿ™‚

          Like

          • metan

            Mmmmm…..*wipes drool from mouth* I had locally grown buffalo sausages the other day, yum!

            ๐Ÿ™‚ Flying indeed! In our ‘yoof’ we spent years with only a motorbike, no car. The only thing I hated was being caught in the rain and being desperate for the loo when we got home. Rain makes denim stick but the need for the loo intensify, a dreadful combination!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

            Like

          • acflory

            Oooh. I’ve never tried buffalo. What’s it like? Beef-ish?
            And yes, riding in the rain was miserable as everything sort of drains towards the seat. I had a pair of plastic pants that I’d wear over the top of jeans which helped but when you’re busting you do not need an extra layer to peel off ๐Ÿ˜€

            Like

        • acflory

          lmao – birds of a feather indeed! You have a good The Man there ๐Ÿ™‚

          Like

  • lorddavidprosser

    Well deserved and now you’ve given me some more blogs to follow too. Will I ever get away from this damnable computer?

    Like

Don't be shy!

