Bullying – another child lost

When I first stumbled on the tragic story of Kenneth James Weishuhn I was horrified and then I became angry and started blogging in the hope that words from my small corner of the universe might make some tiny difference, might help to stop this obscenity from happening again.

Since then my anger has turned to a kind of sick incomprehension because the suicide of Kenneth is not the first example of a child hounded to death; it is one of many. Another one may be happening even as I write these words and I feel powerless to stop another young life from slipping away. Yet when naive hope is gone a stubborn persistence can sometimes remain. So I’m not going to stop crying ‘why?’. I’m not going to stop demanding answers. And I’m not going to stop demanding change because these children deserve better from us than a five minute ‘tsk tsk how sad’.

The light has gone out for this boy but his message lives on. He wanted to believe that things would get better. For him they did not. Yet that dream deserves to be pursued for all the other children like him who are struggling with bullying right now.

I strongly suggest that all parents, teachers and anybody with a heart should go to :

http://wp.me/p2eXkV-k8

to give Project ProteKT what help you can, even if it’s nothing more than moral support.

Enough is enough.

 

 

 

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

14 responses to “Bullying – another child lost

  • lorddavidprosser

    As always it sickens me to think that our tolerant society tolerates bullying more than it values the life of a child. Those that shout the loudest are usually the ones who get heard. After today I hope there are some louder shouts from those who think this bullying is wrong. We are trying from two points of the world now let others follow your lead and join in to make sure we lose no more children.

    Like

  • acflory

    lmao – I do! I do ๐Ÿ™‚ But it’s more like ‘Oh my god…is that me?’ boo hoo ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  • littlemissobsessivesanatomy

    i m speechless …i mean i have words but i cant share…talking about somethings in life is impossible ..
    in some way i can relate to this .
    thankyou for being a voice for many…
    you are such a warm and awesome human being

    Like

    • lorddavidprosser

      I hope you can’t relate to this because you’ve been a victim of bullying or something similar. If so, I’m sorry and I’m glad we still have you around. But maybe you could tell people how to survive things like this and that it does get better.

      Like

      • littlemissobsessivesanatomy

        you are kind Lordavidprosser … thankyou for the warm words..
        no i haven’t been a victim to bullying..but for some reason i do relate to it..

        Like

        • acflory

          Empathy – some people are born with too much and some have too little. On my angry days I think that all bullies are mini-sociopaths with no empathy at all. Then on my more charitable days I /know/ that their parents are the ones lacking in empathy.

          I wish there was a pill people could take that would allow them to walk a day in someone else’s shoes. Until the boffins make one though we’ll just have to keep doing things the hard way.

          Like

      • acflory

        -hugs- see my comment about empathy.

        Like

    • acflory

      Thanks Littlemiss. Words can be good but caring is better so you’ll always be welcome here ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  • Candy

    This is one of those crazy/big problems that make us all feel helpless. There’s one thing that we can do and that’s speak up when we see something. This is hard โ€” especially for kids in school, but if they learn early, they won’t tolerate bullying in any form later.

    Like

Don't be shy!

