SWTOR – my companion just made a pass at me!

As many of you may know I play Star Wars: The Old Republic [hereinafter called SWTOR] and I am enjoying it. Well, last night I was in my ship, chatting with my male companion Corso and doing a bit of ‘flirting’…

[Hmmm…-thinks- I may have to backtrack here a little otherwise they are going to think I’m really strange]

Ok, in SWTOR your character inherits a companion npc* quite early on in the game. This companion fights with you and is a little like a Hunter’s ‘pet’ in WoW* except that it gains affection towards you instead of ‘loyalty’.  Most of this affection is linked to the choices you make while you are questing – do or say ‘good’ things and it grows, do ‘bad’ things and it diminishes. The more affection your companion feels for you the more effective it is as a companion. I’m a female Gunslinger [don’t ask] and my companion is a human male who acts as my tank* so logically the more it ‘likes’ me the better it will be as a tank.

Now I had read that  it was possible to have a ‘romance’ with your companion so I was a tad curious to see how this would play out. My first clue happened a few levels* back when I’d ‘flirted’ with another npc during a quest. I suddenly noticed that Corso’s affection went backwards [as evidenced by the red light and minus number that flashed up on the screen]. Was my companion… jealous? How interesting…

Clue no.2 happened last night. As I said, Corso and I were in the ship and the question icon was floating above Corso’s head so I clicked it only to discover that my sweet, country-boy companion was drunk! Not rolling on the floor and being obnoxious drunk, just drunk enough to make a pass at me! Being a responsible woman of mature years I did not lead the poor lad on for long but, I cannot tell a lie, some primal part of my sub-brain was a little chuffed. Yes, I know, how can a grown woman flirt with a digital picture and enjoy it?

Sadly, my strangeness does not stop there. A few minutes after all this drunken flirting, and after being told that ‘You are the strongest woman I’ve ever met Captain’ [how can you not love a ‘man’ who says things like this?], Corso and I were down on the planet trying to finish off a quest when the truly odd thing happened. This particular quest was one of the ones with ‘stages’. You complete one part and at the end of it you get a message flashing up on screen basically saying that you have unlocked the next stage. I generally just grit my teeth and keep going because the rewards for completing all stages are better, however last night I was tired so when I realised that another stage was about to be unlocked I took the ‘bad’ choice on offer. In this case I had been sent to find a serum that was needed to save the good guys from a plague I can’t spell. To get the serum I had had to fight my way through umpteen corridors and chambers full of evil pirates and I was tired. I wanted to finish and go to bed.

So what was this bad choice that I made? Well, I could force the pirate medic to give me the serum or I could let it keep the serum for all the ‘sick pirates who would die without it’ while I went off somewhere else to find another batch of serum to take back to the ‘good guys’. Like I said, I was tired. I wanted to go to bed and these were just digital people. Right? So I chose to let all those poor bad guys die. AND THE RED LIGHT AND MINUS NUMBERS flashed up on screen from Corso!!!!!!

I had blotted my moral copy book and my companion was displeased with me 😦

Did I laugh it off as just a few numbers that I could make up the next day? Did I log off and go to bed with a clear conscience? Like hell I did 😦 My heart sank and I think I may have blushed. I know I wished that I’d given in and done the rest of the stupid quest. And I know I felt ashamed of myself – both for betraying my principles AND for being such an idiot about a damn game.

Unfortunately, like so many of our real life decisions, once made they cannot be withdrawn so now I know two things –

1. I can’t roleplay for nuts and,

2. Even imaginary moral decisions are important to me.

Is this a hangover from my Catholic upbringing? Or is it more about who I am and how I see myself? Whatever my personal answer may be I know I won’t be taking the easy option again. I also know that I won’t be playing my Sith character anymore unless the storyline allows for some kind of ‘conversion to the light’ when a Sith accumulates too many ‘light’ points. It might be interesting to see how a ‘good’ Sith storyline plays out but my nerves are still a bit too jangled to find out. If anyone has played a good Sith and can give me some pointers I’ll be eternally grateful.

cheers

Meeks

npc* – non-player character, in other words a character controlled by the game AI.

WoW* – World of Warcraft online

tank* – a class that defends other players by drawing enemy fire onto themselves

levels* – a form of in-game progression based on the accumulation of XP [experience points]

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

15 responses to “SWTOR – my companion just made a pass at me!

  • lorddavidprosser

    Tut Tut Captain. Flirting with the crew, surely not. And this one a young lad too.
    Actually I think the RPG has a place these days as a sort of moral compass to teach the players right from wrong. Instead of the threats of eternal hellfire and damnation your Catholic upbringing would threaten for your misdemeanors here we have the clearest lessons in how it hurts to lose friendship, respect or even love from making wrong decisions. And here you are, living proof of the regret that making those decisions brings.
    Maybe RPG’s should be standard fare in Schools to take the pupils back to the Golden Age of showing respect to others.
    Get the games right and maybe we can have a period like the Romantic Arthurian legends that see the Knight always on the look out to save the damsel in distress and to ensure that all in their care are fed and safe. A time of heroes who help the poor and dispossessed but don’t go looking for a fight. What a world it could be.I expect you to get out there and start teaching right now. What? No, never mind that you’re still in dressing gown and slippers. This is important.
    OK then, after breakfast.

    Like

    • acflory

      -giggles- Only one thing wrong with the Arthurian legends and that is that some of us ladies would rather be wearing armour than wimples!

      On general principles though mmo’s could do a damn sight more to foster tolerance than they do. WoW did and still does foster hatred between the two factions that players can choose to play and this artificial atmosphere of hate is there in virtually every mmo where pvp is allowed.

      SWTOR seems to be breaking the mold a little with the light/dark allegiances but then I haven’t played on one of their pvp [player versus player] servers so I have no idea how things work there.

      I’d really like to see things change in online games but I’m not holding my breath.

      Like

      • lorddavidprosser

        Well I’m glad of the last bit anyway or I wouldn’t be able to read any more of your blogs. Breath holding is not recommended unless you’re a)underwater or b)standing upwind of Metan’s son.

        Like

        • acflory

          lmao – I know I shouldn’t but there was this odd little nugget on QI last night about the chemical composition of farts and apparently only a tiny percent of humans release methane. Of course I now can’t remember the name of the gas that can be lit if a scorched bum is not a problem.

          Like

  • metan

    🙂 Letting down a person whose existence revolves around laying down his life for you? For shame! When skynet becomes self-aware I know who will be high on the death list!!

    Not only son no 2, a houseful of boys can be a very unpleasant thing at times! (that includes the master of the house, he is master of other things too…peeeyooou!)

    Like

  • Candy Korman

    Of course imaginary moral decisions count! As a non-player, I found this post fascinating.

    Like

    • acflory

      Argh…I was kind of hoping for funny 😉

      Seriously though? Some gamers are good people who would never do anything in-game that they wouldn’t do in real life. Others? Well, let’s just say that some are in training for the mafia and others for politics :/

      Like

Don't be shy!

