Kenneth James Weishuhn – declare war on bullying!

Being gay is not a crime. It is not a sin. It is not a sickness that can be ‘cured’ and it is not a choice than can be made. It is just a fact, like having brown hair instead of blond, blue eyes instead of brown.

Kenneth James Weishuhn was 14 years old when he committed suicide.  But he didn’t just jump, he was pushed, by other teenagers who bullied him until dying was better than staying alive.

Why was Kenneth bullied? Because he admitted to being gay.  Some small minded, homophobic teenager objected to this and the feeding frenzy began.  I’ve seen kids do it in general chat on mmo’s like WoW and Aion.  Someone picks on someone else. That someone else can’t fight back effectively and then suddenly all the others realise that here is someone who is vulnerable and they go in for the kill. It may only be a verbal frenzy but it is ugly. And now I know it is much more than that. It is a part of the culture we have allowed to flourish both online and off. A culture of hate that may start with the parents. Or perhaps it starts at church on Sunday when a man of god thunders about the sin of sodomy. But the worst part is that the rest of us just look away, pretending that we hear no evil, see no evil, speak no evil. Yet by not speaking out we are condoning a great big evil called deliberate, willful cruelty.

Cruelty killed Kenneth James Weishuhn and it’s time we stopped averting our eyes. It’s time we stopped telling ourselves that it’s not our business. It is our business. We helped create this culture of anything goes and we helped make it possible for bullies to flourish. But what we create we can undo. If we have the will.

The first step is to do what the organizers of the Kony protest did – start a wave of protest and make it so big that it cannot be ignored.  Protest online using your blogs. Protest on FB. Protest on Twitter. Protest in the supermarket and protest in your church.

Most of all, the next time you see ANYONE bullying someone else, at any age, say something. Shame them. Make them realise that they cannot do something cruel and get away with it. Show them how small and pathetic they are. Show them that bullying has consequences for them, not just for their victims. And if enough of us fight on behalf of those who cannot fight for themselves perhaps we will give them the strength to stand up to these cretins. Or if they can’t fight perhaps they will gain enough strength to keep living until they can fight back.

Our children are our future. We need them all, the straights and the gays, the strong and the weak. But there is one thing we do not need and that is the cruel. Cruelty is an evil seed that just keeps on growing. Cruelty leads to bullying and bullying leads to death. It has to stop. Today.

Declare war on bullying and save a life.

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

6 responses to “Kenneth James Weishuhn – declare war on bullying!

  • Candy

    I’ve done some research and writing on the subject of bullying for one of my clients. It seems that the key people are the OTHER kids. The ones that witness the bullying and don’t step in. Sometimes they are afraid of being targeted and sometimes they are passively enjoying the show. The answer is to engage the bystanders and help them see that they are responsible for the outcome. When I think back on when I was picked on and when I saw other kids being picked on, there was nothing in the culture that encouraged other kids to step up or step in. As adults we have to help make that shift, make the bystanders feel that they have a role to play and that standing around being happy they are not the current victim is not enough.

    Like

  • acflory

    Thanks Candy. I was going on nothing but gut instinct so it’s very good to get some genuine facts to back up my call to arms. I just wish I could think of something else to do…read heads to knock together. I feel all puffed up at the moment, full of rage and tears. I want to do something so badly before Super Mum shrinks back into ordinary mum again. I haven’t felt this way since my daughter was a baby and the sound of another infant crying would send me rushing up and down the aisles of supermarkets, looking for a child to rescue. Except it’s not hormones this time 😦

    Like

    • Candy Korman

      I know how you feel. I often want to just DO SOMETHING but that’s not usually a great plan. Joining organizations that prevent bullying can be good, but you have to look at what they are actually doing. I’m most interested in programs that go into schools and talk about tolerance of all differences. Of course hammering the message doesn’t work for teens, but maybe, just maybe a few kids will pick up the idea and create their own language for preventing bullying behaviors.

      Like

      • acflory

        When I’m not seething with rage I know that bullying will always exist – to an extent – but I am truly starting to loathe the fact that our society has allowed this much hate to exist in the name of ‘freedom’. I don’t whether it’s because we don’t care enough or whether it’s because we always seem to need scapegoats to hate 😦

        Like

  • lorddavidprosser

    Hurray. A normal mother who doesn’t fear her children may catch homosexuality or be seduced into it by one of his/her playmates who may be different. Children can be cruel enough on their own at school but with parents at home teaching the evil and then decrying schools who try to educate kids about homosexuality in order to place the facts before people it’s even worse. I suffered bullying at school because I was ill and unable to participate in games but never to the level where hate was spewed at me like Kenneth. I’m glad there’s someone strong enough to fight back and say enough is enough.

    Like

    • acflory

      Thank you. Most of the rage has gone now but the creeping sense of horror remains so my posts are going to be stuck on this theme for a while. Quite frankly it’s hard seeing anything else as being very important just now. -hugs-

      Like

Don't be shy!

