The joys of procrastination

Following links in posts and other people’s blogs can lead to interesting destinations and ‘Cat Waxing – 101’ opened my eyes to a whole world of metaphor I’d previously missed [apparently ‘cat waxing’ is a metaphor for procrastination. ..].

Vokhtah - the planet

As none of my cats showed the slightest inclination to get a bikini wax I was thrown back on my own resources and came up with the image on the left.

Yes, I know it’s pretty awful but like all the images I create on Corel Draw 4 it’s only meant to help me visualize the world of Vokhtah. If I ever finish the story [two books and counting] I am going to look for a talented cartographer and/or illustrator to turn these visual notes into something more appealing.

Hideous graphics aside though, these visual notes do help me stay in touch with the story even when, as now, I’m feeling less than inspired when it comes to words. It’s not that I don’t know where to take the story from here, I do and that is the problem. Filling in the missing chapters is making me feel as if I’m in limbo because the story requires neither creativity [i.e. working out where is the story going] nor problem solving [i.e. working out how to edit/restructure to make it better].  It’s just work.

When the need to wax the cat becomes completely overpowering I go out and commit genocide on weeds or stagger around with very big rocks or … clean the house.

-sigh- I hate to say this but I really do feel a bout of dusting coming on. Maybe if I call it Autumn Cleaning I won’t feel so guilty. Bah. Who am I kidding? It’s not even autumn yet.

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

6 responses to “The joys of procrastination

  • acflory

    lol – they are indeed. Mine seem to be in constant competition for attention and some kind of intangible ‘top cat’ position and they all demand their special time. Damned if I know how mums with a dozen kids cope!

    Like

  • acflory

    lmao – Morse sounds like Oscar! I sleep with my door firmly closed otherwise I’d end up with a bedful of cats and a dog whining to join /them/. Our rituals include morning and night time ‘promenades’ around the garden. It started when Mogi [dog] was a puppy and had to be taken out for pee walks. Suddenly I’d look around and there they’d be – 3 cats following us. Mogi can use the cat door now but the rituals continue 😀 My little tribe.

    Like

    • Candy

      In a studio apartment that is both my home and my office, Morse alternates between being my colleague and my boss. But I think that he thinks I’m his girlfriend. Cats!? They are what they are…

      Like

  • candy

    As we are having a premature sample of spring in New York and I have zero inclination to start my spring cleaning (or do my annual taxes), I’m practicing the fine art of procrastination. Waxing the cat? What a great phrase, although I believe the Morse would object. He’s perfectly happy cleaning himself with his sandpaper tongue.

    Like

    • acflory

      We’ve had over a week of pre-autumn weather so it feels like autumn but in Melbourne…who knows. Anyway I’m going to blame it on climate change.

      lol – does Morse ever decide that you need grooming too? My Pippi is convinced a daily shower is simply not enough [for me]. Thank god she leaves me years alone!

      Like

      • candy

        Not much of a ‘shower cat’ but…. We’re about to set the clocks ahead (on Sunday morning) and lose an hour of sleep. Morse, who usually sleeps late — yes, he is a very strange cat — has been waking me up every day this week. He must be seeing the dawn coming early and doesn’t want me to miss it. I WANT to miss it. Anyway, I may be the only one on Monday who does not feel like a lost an hour of sleep. Largely because the cat has decided to remove that hour in advance. LOL…

        Like

Don't be shy!

