How to eat well on $9.04 per day

After a  month of recording every single cent I spent on food, and keeping a sort of diary of what I cooked with that food, I now know it’s cost me an average of $9.04 to put breakfast, lunch and dinner on the table [for each of us].

If you’re interested, the screenshot below shows the first week on my Excel spreadsheet :

shopping week 1

Once I tidy up my food diary I’ll post about what I cooked with that food. For now I’ll just say that nothing went to waste. :)

 

 

 

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

14 responses to “How to eat well on $9.04 per day

  • davidprosser

    The makings of a good Cookery Book on the way.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  • pinkagendist

    Chorizo is cheaper here, but the rest is the same :) You don’t use tomatoes? I go through at least one per day.

    • acflory

      lol – I do, but not for everything. Our ‘last’ dinner included a really tasty cherry tomato kind of sauce. The Daughter introduced me to it – onions, garlic, lots of butter and whole cherry tomatoe cooked only for about 5 minutes. Then poured over cous cous.

  • chrisjames282

    Blimey! Want to come round my house and show me how to be that organised?! :)

  • Carrie Rubin

    Wow, impressive! With two teen boys, I don’t think I dare tally a kitchen spreadsheet. Could be scary!

  • Candy Korman

    An interesting experiment. Here in NYC it would be really challenging. But I think I’ll take a look at how my money seems to float out of my wallet.

    • acflory

      Trust me, keeping tabs on it like this really makes you aware of all those little things we buy without even thinking. Now I’m even more grateful my vegie pots give me at least some of the stuff I need. Saving just a bit on lettuce and some parsley can add up. :D

  • EllaDee

    What an interesting exercise, it’s not until you record it that you really see where you are spending. When I try to do it mentally, thinking of our here-there-everywhere shopping, I get the brain version of “… has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience.” ;)
    Even without recipes, you’ve demonstrated that mindful shopping can really accomplish healthy, delicious and economical eating as well as a few treats… life is too short after all :)

    • acflory

      LMAO! You literally made me laugh out loud. And yes, that’s exactly how I used to feel about ‘budgeting’. Was a real eye opener when I finally made myself do it.

      I guess the big difference in my shopping now is that I think ahead to meals that I know I’ll make rather than buying in a shot gun fashion – in case I /feel/ like making X, Y or Z.

  • Jeri Walker-Bickett (@JeriWB)

    This is fascinating to me. Hubby and I spend sooooo much on groceries and eating out. Food is our weakness, but I keep saying we need to buckle down and get a grip.

    • acflory

      If I won the lottery tomorrow I’d probably be a lot less careful about what I buy and/or cook, but I hope I’d keep the lessons I’ve learned about not wasting so much food.

      In the past I’d buy things with the idea that maybe I’d cook them up. But then I’d end up cooking something else, or buying takeaway because I didn’t feel like cooking, and a couple of meals worth of food would end up going off in the fridge. :(

      I think we all have to balance convenience with a kind of …food conscience? Meh, that sounds way too holier-than-thou. Not meaning to preach!

Don't be shy!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 893 other followers

